unnamed (1).gifOn one of those more dreary days, I stumbled across a girl who was oh so eager to tell me all about her feminist-ing adventures.  She told me how she liked “second waves”, how she supported women of colour “sometimes” and how she celebrated suffrage once each year. In the few breathes I managed to cooe anything more than an “aha”, I mentioned that I support Islamic Feminism to which she retorted “well I’m a Christian feminist”. Uhm.

Later she told me how she supported LGBTQA+ so long as they didn’t enter her family and that abortion, she believed; “kills female babies”,so shes pro-life.

Laughable innit.

My first and most obvious thought was that she’s a poser and that it’s people like this that give feminism a bad name.  But would that be fair? Sure many prominent feminists believe that abortion is a controversial topic and that people of all religions should be encouraged to be feminists on top of them being crazy and deluded. However,  I’m just not buying into the whole pro-life feminist thing.

Which got me thinking…
Do you have to be pro-choice to be a feminist?

Religion aside, abortion is the termination of a human pregnancy, most often performed during the first 28 weeks.

Whilst Pro-Choice is the advocacy of the legal right of a woman to choose whether or not she will have an abortion.

Therefore being pro-choice does not necessarily mean pro-abortion. For example, a very religious person could be opposed to the termination of unwanted pregnancies and still be pro choice because they acknowledge that it isn’t there decision.

So maybe the problem is in the definitions of these words and how people interpret them. Often the words pro-life and pro-choice are seen as a binary of opposing views, when actually the lines are blurred and far more complex than that.

A large chunk of being a feminist is in fighting the obvious objectification, mainly of women, but across genders of people.  It’s about setting the belief that people should be treated equally as responsible and capable of taking care of their own bodies.

If there are laws which govern a women’s body, or the body of any person on the basis of their sex, that would inevitably go against feminism.

So I guess for me the idea of a pro-life feminist has been long buried.

